Irvamae Applegate (1920–1973) served as NEA president (1966–67)and as a member of the Executive Committee of the World Confederation of Organizations of the Teaching Profession (now Education International). Sidney Dorros (1925–1993) was the staff consultant to the NEA Bicentennial Committee.

NEA presents the Applegate-Dorros Peace and International Understanding Award to an NEA member, NEA local affiliate, and/or NEA state affiliate whose activities in education contribute to international understanding and motivate youth to work for world peace.

To be eligible for this award, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • Serve as a leader in efforts to further international understanding among Americans.
  • Make lasting contributions to the cause of international peace.
  • Inspire youth to study and become involved in methods for realizing international peace.
  • Promote international understanding, peace, and cooperation among the nations of the world.

Awarded in odd-numbered years

2020 HCR Awards Honorees